Skip To Main Content
Social Studies Header

Social Studies Department Course Offerings

HUMANITIES DISTINCTION
The Humanities distinction acknowledges graduating seniors that complete a plan emphasizing a humanities focus in one of the two humanities pathways:  International Language and Social Science. To be eligible for this distinction, the student must complete all requirements in one of the two pathways. Students earning this distinction are eligible to wear a light blue distinction cord at graduation.

SOCIAL SCIENCE PATHWAY
Social Science criteria for distinction:
    4 credits in Social Science; 2 credits in International Language 
     Cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher in all course work
     Participate in one or more of the following:  Model UN, Academic WorldQuest, National History Day, and/or other project-based extracurricular activity approved by the GHS Social Studies Department.
     Attend at least four City Council or Kalispell Public Schools Board meetings and complete a write-up.
     Complete at least 10 hours of Social Science related community service

Social Studies Faculty

BEau Wright

BEAU WRIGHT
*Department Chair
Wrightb@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 8345

Levi Birky

LEVI BIRKY
birkyl@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 8675

Jerry Boschee

JERRY BOSCHEE
boscheej@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 8661

Erik Brink

ERIK BRINK
brinke@sd5.k12.mt.us

Burnham

TED BURNHAM
burnhamt@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 8680

Dardis

MELANIE DARDIS
dardism@sd5.k12.mt.us

Harkins

MARK HARKINS
harkinsm@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 8344

May

HOLLIS MAY
mayh@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 8665

Abby Snipes

ABBY SNIPES
abby.snipes@sd5.k12.mt.us
406-758-8600, ext 3664